Fair Cell Phone Policies

I think it’s hard to come up with a fair cell phone policy for everyone. The stereotype is think about those youngsters playing on their phones all the time. But in reality, our learners have jobs, families, and other commitments. I tell my students to keep their phones on silent. If they have an important call to take they can step out of the class. The main reason I don’t like students texting in class is because it is distracting to myself and others. It also decreases their overall performance in class. A quote from the following article:

“Research has indicated that student performance is significantly correlated with cell phone use. A study by Duncan, Hoekstra, and Wilcox (2012) demonstrated that students who reported regular cell phone use in class showed an average negative grade difference of 0.36 ± 0.08 on a four-point scale. Students also underestimated the number of times they accessed their phones while in class. While students reported an average access rate of three times per class period, observation data showed the rate was closer to seven times per period. An interesting finding is that other students are distracted when students text in class (Tindell and Bohlander, 2012). So while a student may claim he’s only hurting himself when texting, studies show that others are affected also.”

Something else to notice from the article linked above is that the author asks the readers for their ideas about cell phone policies. There are nearly 100 comments to read and lots to learn.

About simoncrothers

I am an Australian who moved to British Columbia, Canada with my family in 1998. After completing my undergraduate degree in mathematics and computing science at Simon Fraser University, I moved back to Australia for several years. During this time I completed a Masters in Computational Mathematics and began my teaching career in mathematics at the University of New South Wales. In 2010, I moved back to Canada and taught computer science at Douglas College for three years. I am currently regular faculty in the Computer Business Systems department at KPU. I have also taught some courses in the Business and Quantitative Methods department at KPU. In my spare time I like to spend time with my wife Jami, who I met in Australia, our three year old daughter Lillian, and our newly born son Aiden. I also like to indulge in the occasional video game and I am involved in various self-employed web development projects.
This entry was posted in Discussions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment