Reflections of my PIDP journey so far

It has been two years since I started the BC Provincial Instructor Diploma (PIDP) and I definitely have learnt a lot along the way. The first course I took was PIDP 3100: Foundations of Adult Education. Since I am from a science and technology background, this was quite an overwhelming course for me. I spent most of my time in course improve my research methods and learning how to write papers using APA standards. The course gave me a good overview of what to expect during my studies in adult education.

My second course was PIDP 3220: Delivery of Instruction which has been the only course I have taken face-to-face. In this course, I prepared and delivered three mini-lessons, received constructive feedback in class from my instructor and classmates, and watched video recordings of my mini-lessons. The high point during the course for me was the notion of injecting affection into cognitive lessons to enhance the learning experience. In PIDP 3210: Curriculum Development I learnt more than ever thought I would. I went through the entire development cycle for creating a course and it has helped me develop two new courses at my university.  PIDP 3230: Evaluation of Learning really helped me improve the quality of my assignments and exams. I was shocked how many things I had been doing wrong before I took this course.

I’ll be honest…I didn’t really learn much in PIDP 3240: Enhanced Media Learning. I believe the issue here was not the course nor the instructor, but the fact that I had already taken three courses online and I teach technology usage. It was good to reaffirm what I already knew though. PIDP 3250: Instructional Strategies seemed like it was going to be a very dull course. However, the instructor who ran the course made sure there was a lot of group work and online discussion in the course. This made topics which were a bit boring to me a lot more interesting! The current course I’m taking is PIDP 3260: Professional Practice and I’m not quite sure what I think about it yet. I will need to complete the course to have an honest opinion about it.

I am nervous and excited about taking my final course PIDP 3270: Capstone Project. I don’t really know what to expect but I heard there is a 50% journal entry in that course. My journal skills have drastically improved since I started the PIDP so I guess I will continue doing what I’ve been doing!

References

https://simoncrothers.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/presentation-reflections/

About simoncrothers

I am an Australian who moved to British Columbia, Canada with my family in 1998. After completing my undergraduate degree in mathematics and computing science at Simon Fraser University, I moved back to Australia for several years. During this time I completed a Masters in Computational Mathematics and began my teaching career in mathematics at the University of New South Wales. In 2010, I moved back to Canada and taught computer science at Douglas College for three years. I am currently regular faculty in the Computer Business Systems department at KPU. I have also taught some courses in the Business and Quantitative Methods department at KPU. In my spare time I like to spend time with my wife Jami, who I met in Australia, our three year old daughter Lillian, and our newly born son Aiden. I also like to indulge in the occasional video game and I am involved in various self-employed web development projects.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

