Team Teaching

I have only experienced team teaching as a student once. A professor taught the theory portion of a mathematics course for the first half of the semester and his PhD student taught the application portion of the course for the second half. The process seemed very disjointed as I had to adjust to a different teaching style halfway through a course. The second time team teaching arose again was when discussions arose during a department meeting when discussing alternative methods for teaching our courses. The idea was that an instructor taught the theory portion of a course and then a member of our department taught the software application portion. Again, this same disjoint method I had previously experienced was apparent and I didn’t support it.

My misunderstandings of team teaching was made apparent upon reading Brookfield’s chapter regarding diversity in student learning. He regrets to inform us that “what often passes for team teaching is sometimes only an agreement amongst a group of colleagues to divide a course into several discrete and different segments, each of which is the sole responsibility of the team. This is sequenced solo teaching, not team teaching” (Brookfield, 2006, p. 159). To understanding the differences between sequenced solo teaching and team teaching, I’d like to draw your attention to the following Twitter post.

team_Twitter

The next time team teaching becomes a discussion point during a department meeting I will make sure I mention my findings and how this approach to team teaching can benefit ourselves and our students.

References

Brookfield, S. D. (2006). The Skillful Teacher: On Technique, Trust, and Responsiveness in the Classroom (Second ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

About simoncrothers

I am an Australian who moved to British Columbia, Canada with my family in 1998. After completing my undergraduate degree in mathematics and computing science at Simon Fraser University, I moved back to Australia for several years. During this time I completed a Masters in Computational Mathematics and began my teaching career in mathematics at the University of New South Wales. In 2010, I moved back to Canada and taught computer science at Douglas College for three years. I am currently regular faculty in the Computer Business Systems department at KPU. I have also taught some courses in the Business and Quantitative Methods department at KPU. In my spare time I like to spend time with my wife Jami, who I met in Australia, our three year old daughter Lillian, and our newly born son Aiden. I also like to indulge in the occasional video game and I am involved in various self-employed web development projects.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

