Experiencing Teaching

In the opening chapter of Brookfield’s book The Skillful Teacher: On Technique, Trust, and Responsiveness in the Classroom, he discusses the experiences of teaching. He raises the concern that there are many uncertainties in teaching and that instructors muddle through these uncertainties (which is okay!). He attempts to structure this muddling approach through practical reasoning, which consists of scanning, appraisal, and action (2006, pg. 6). The conclusion of the chapter is that instructors need to grow into the truth of teaching. This is a seemingly impossible feat to accomplish, since truth of teaching is unique to each instructor and what may be true for one instructor may not be the case for another.

I found this chapter interesting to read, but the style of the writing bothered me. Brookfield constantly referred to himself and his opinion was stated frequently with references not always provided. It was not until the third page of the book that he stated that his book would be an opinionated book. This was even more frustrating to me as I read the third and fourth chapters of the book first to prepare myself for the second assignment in PIDP 3260.

Hopefully I can overcome my annoyances with this book. I have never read an opinionated book. Maybe it will get better in later chapters. Only time will tell.

References

Brookfield, S. D. (2006). The Skillful Teacher: On Technique, Trust, and Responsiveness in the Classroom (Second ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

About simoncrothers

I am an Australian who moved to British Columbia, Canada with my family in 1998. After completing my undergraduate degree in mathematics and computing science at Simon Fraser University, I moved back to Australia for several years. During this time I completed a Masters in Computational Mathematics and began my teaching career in mathematics at the University of New South Wales. In 2010, I moved back to Canada and taught computer science at Douglas College for three years. I am currently regular faculty in the Computer Business Systems department at KPU. I have also taught some courses in the Business and Quantitative Methods department at KPU. In my spare time I like to spend time with my wife Jami, who I met in Australia, our three year old daughter Lillian, and our newly born son Aiden. I also like to indulge in the occasional video game and I am involved in various self-employed web development projects.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

