Selling Flipped Classrooms to Students

I am seriously considering teaching Management Information Systems in September as a flipped class. The course is incredibly dry and theory driven and the lectures are boring for me to give and my students to listen to. My main concern though, is that most instructors I know don’t use this teaching approach, and students are not familiar with it. How can I sell this approach to my students in the first day of class?

An approach I’ve seen for “selling” a class to students is the “Pay it Forward” method in my PIDP classes. In this method students provide comments and suggestions that are passed on students in future classes. When searching the #flipclass hashtag on Twitter, I came across an article suggesting a “Pay it Forward” method for flipped classrooms. Flipped classrooms are based around videos that students watch outside of class time. It is natural then to have videos from previous students discussing their experiences in a flipped classroom. Although this method won’t be applicable the first time I teach in a flipped classroom setting, I will definitely consider using it for the second time I teach in a flipped class environment.

About simoncrothers

I am an Australian who moved to British Columbia, Canada with my family in 1998. After completing my undergraduate degree in mathematics and computing science at Simon Fraser University, I moved back to Australia for several years. During this time I completed a Masters in Computational Mathematics and began my teaching career in mathematics at the University of New South Wales. In 2010, I moved back to Canada and taught computer science at Douglas College for three years. I am currently regular faculty in the Computer Business Systems department at KPU. I have also taught some courses in the Business and Quantitative Methods department at KPU. In my spare time I like to spend time with my wife Jami, who I met in Australia, our three year old daughter Lillian, and our newly born son Aiden. I also like to indulge in the occasional video game and I am involved in various self-employed web development projects.
This entry was posted in Research and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

