Dealing with Unmotivated Students in a Flipped Classroom

There are several drawbacks in the flipped classroom model:

  1. Students need to be motivated.
  2. Students need to keep on the same subject.
  3. Testing can be difficult.
  4. Information found on the Internet changes.
  5. Promotion of slower learning.

How would you deal with students who are not watching the videos? How would you keep the students on schedule?

Reference

http://www.stratostar.net/blog/five-reasons-against-the-flipped-classroom#.VVQ7n_lViko

About simoncrothers

I am an Australian who moved to British Columbia, Canada with my family in 1998. After completing my undergraduate degree in mathematics and computing science at Simon Fraser University, I moved back to Australia for several years. During this time I completed a Masters in Computational Mathematics and began my teaching career in mathematics at the University of New South Wales. In 2010, I moved back to Canada and taught computer science at Douglas College for three years. I am currently regular faculty in the Computer Business Systems department at KPU. I have also taught some courses in the Business and Quantitative Methods department at KPU. In my spare time I like to spend time with my wife Jami, who I met in Australia, our three year old daughter Lillian, and our newly born son Aiden. I also like to indulge in the occasional video game and I am involved in various self-employed web development projects.
This entry was posted in Discussions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

