A Digital Tool for Flipped Classrooms

Flipboard is a social media application that allows users to create their own magazines using information found online.

Source: http://img.timeinc.net/time/photoessays/2010/best_inventions/bi_flipboard_1122.jpg

It can be used as a digital tool for flipped classrooms as follows:

  1. Students can create their own digital magazines.
  2. Students and instructors can provide feedback on the student-created digital magazine
  3. Students can create their own textbooks
  4. Students and instructors can collaborate on a shared digital class space

How could you see yourself using Flipboard in a flipped classroom setting in your classroom? What are advantages/disadvantages of this method?

Reference

http://tiie.w3.uvm.edu/blog/4-ways-use-flipboard-flipped-classroom/

About simoncrothers

I am an Australian who moved to British Columbia, Canada with my family in 1998. After completing my undergraduate degree in mathematics and computing science at Simon Fraser University, I moved back to Australia for several years. During this time I completed a Masters in Computational Mathematics and began my teaching career in mathematics at the University of New South Wales. In 2010, I moved back to Canada and taught computer science at Douglas College for three years. I am currently regular faculty in the Computer Business Systems department at KPU. I have also taught some courses in the Business and Quantitative Methods department at KPU. In my spare time I like to spend time with my wife Jami, who I met in Australia, our three year old daughter Lillian, and our newly born son Aiden. I also like to indulge in the occasional video game and I am involved in various self-employed web development projects.
This entry was posted in Discussions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

