Lesson Planning

Lesson planning contains a wide array of related components. Utilizing both academic search engines and databases, I have discovered valuable resources regarding Bloom’s Taxonomy, motivational techniques, assessment methods, instructional strategies, and media involvement. The following discussion explains why I have selected these resources and how they will improve my instruction in computer business systems.

Bloom’s Taxonomy

Bloom’s Taxonomy can be applied to create learning objectives. Starr, Manaris, and Stalvey demonstrated how this can be done by considering each knowledge level in the cognitive domain for a topic, and deciding which level is desired for student achievement (2008, p. 263). I chose this article because I want the learning objectives in my classes to describe the learning processes and not just the outcomes. This article will improve my instruction as it provides examples of learning objectives, created with Bloom’s Taxonomy, for computing science classes. These examples relate to material I teach in my microcomputer application classes.

Motivational Techniques

Motivating my students to learn outside of class is a challenge, especially since they enrol in my classes as a requirement of their program and not by choice. I desire for my students to be more self-directed in their learning. An article by Nemec (2011, p. 72) suggests delivering content by alternative methods, clarifying the purpose of learning objectives, and introducing a “learning to learn” component can improve students’ self-directed learning. By enhancing my Moodle site and lesson plans, and spending time in the first class talking about how to learn effectively, my students can improve their self-directed learning.

Assessment Methods

In management information systems courses that I teach, students conduct many case analyses. A common concern among them when receiving feedback is how their writing is evaluated. A study by Rochford and Borchet (2011) provides strategies for developing rubrics for case analysis in business education. I have chosen this article because it describes the process for developing rubrics with emphasis on the higher levels of Bloom’s Taxonomy, and suggests techniques for evaluating validity and reliability of the assessment methods. This article will help my students assess themselves before submitting assignments and also help myself in the evaluation of their work.

Instructional Strategies

Creating Microsoft Excel formulas is something my students struggle with and they are often hesitant to ask questions regarding this content. A study by Khan and Chishti suggests that presenting solutions to problems as sequences of steps encourages students to actively ask questions in class, as they can now pinpoint areas that are troubling them (2011, p. 658). Although this study was conducted in a mathematics class, I find this technique useful as it can be applied in my introductory Excel formula lesson and can enhance the understanding among the more dependent learners in the class.

Media Involvement

YouTube videos are used for adding relevance and enjoyment to learning. Problems with this service are the inability to compile multiple videos with one hyperlink and the requirement to watch commercials before videos. TeacherTube is a more educationally focused and safer learning environment for educators and learners (Smith & Smith, 2013). There are no lengthy advertisements prior to videos and users can create collections of videos to share with others. Not only is sharing videos with students improved due to only one hyperlink being needed, but the delays in viewing videos is reduced which will help maintain my students’ attention.

References

Khan, S. B., & Chishti, S. (2011). Learners’ errors: supporting learners for participating in mathematics’ classroom. International Journal of Academic Research, 3(1), 656-659.

Nemec, P. (2011). The self-directed learner. Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal, 35(1), 71-73.

Rochford, L., & Borchert, P. S. (2011). Assessing higher level learning: developing rubrics for case analysis. Journal of Education for Business, 86(5), 258-265.

Smith, A., & Smith, J. (2013). TeacherTube – About us. Retrieved July 20, 2013, from TeacherTube: http://www.teachertube.com/

Starr, C. W., Manaris, B., & Stalvey, R. H. (2008). Bloom’s taxonomy revisited: specifying assessable learning objectives in computer science. ACM SIGCSE Bulletin, 40(1), 261-265.

About simoncrothers

I am an Australian who moved to British Columbia, Canada with my family in 1998. After completing my undergraduate degree in mathematics and computing science at Simon Fraser University, I moved back to Australia for several years. During this time I completed a Masters in Computational Mathematics and began my teaching career in mathematics at the University of New South Wales. In 2010, I moved back to Canada and taught computer science at Douglas College for three years. I am currently regular faculty in the Computer Business Systems department at KPU. I have also taught some courses in the Business and Quantitative Methods department at KPU. In my spare time I like to spend time with my wife Jami, who I met in Australia, our three year old daughter Lillian, and our newly born son Aiden. I also like to indulge in the occasional video game and I am involved in various self-employed web development projects.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

